Make your own free website on

Phylogeny and Evolution of Flowering Plants

Home | Theories of Evolution | Phylogentic Tree & Dichotomous Key | Monocots & Dicots | Cyanobacteria | Green Algae | Psilophyta | Lycophyta | Ginkgophyta | Coniferophyta | Gnetophyta | Anthophyta | Sphenophyta | Bryophyta | Hepatophyta | Anthocerophyta | Pterophyta | Cycadophyta | Angiosperm Evolution Essay | Work Cited

Monocots & Dicots


Monocots and dicots are two major groups of flowering plants that fall under the category of angiosperms and are part of the kingdom, Plantae. Monocots are also called "monocotyledons" because most members of the group contain one cotyledon (embryonic leaf) in their seeds. On the other hand, dicotyledons have two cotyledons in their seeds. Monocots are particularly distinctive because their flowers either have three, six, or nine petals and leaves with parallel veins.


By Brittany, Katelyn, Kyle, and Robbie